Eleftheriades, George V.




Contact Information
E-Mail: gelefth@waves.utoronto.ca
Phone: (416) 946-3564
Office: BA 5128
Website: https://www.metawave-group.com/


George V. Eleftheriades earned his M.S.E.E. and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, in 1989 and 1993 respectively, where he was involved in the development of sub-millimeter-wave and THz technology sponsored by NASA. From 1994-1997 he was with the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, where he was engaged in the design of millimetre and sub-millimetre wave receivers for the European Space Agency. Currently he is a Professor in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering at the University of Toronto, where he holds the Canada Research Chair in Nano- and Micro-Structured Electromagnetic Materials and Applications. Professor Eleftheriades is a recognized international authority and pioneer in the area of metamaterials. These are man-made media which have electromagnetic properties not found in nature. Professor Eleftheriades introduced a method for synthesizing metamaterials using loaded transmission lines. Together with his graduate students, he provided the first experimental evidence of imaging beyond the diffraction limit with a Veselago-Pendry lens and pioneered several novel microwave and optical components, and antennas using these transmission-line based metamaterials. By July 2012 his work has been cited more than 7,000 times.

Professor Eleftheriades serves as an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation (AP). He also served as a member of the IEEE AP-Society Administrative Committee (AdCom) during 2007-2012 and was an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer from 2004-2009. He served as the general Chair of the 2010 IEEE Intl. Symposium on Antennas and Propagation held in Toronto. He was the co-guest editor of the October 2011 Proceedings of the IEEE on “Metamaterials: Fundamentals and Applications in the Microwave and Optical Regimes”.  His current research interests are in the  areas of electromagnetic  metamaterials, transformation optics, small antennas and components for broadband wireless communications, novel antenna beam-steering techniques, plasmonic and nanoscale optical components and fundamental electromagnetic theory.


  • Fellow of The Royal Society of Canada since 2009
  • Fellow of the IEEE since 2006
  • IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Technical Field Award (2008)
  • NSERC Steacie Fellow (2004)
  • Ontario Premier’s Research Excellence Award (2001)
  • 2010 IEEE Microwave and Wireless Components Best Paper Award (co-authored with Loïc Markley)
  • 2008 RWP King Best Paper Award from the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation (co-authored with Ashwin Iyer)
  • 2012 RWP King Best Paper Award from the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation (co-authored with Alex Wong)