Three ECE faculty members named Canada Research Chairs

May 3, 2018

Olivier Trescases headshot

Professor Olivier Trescases

Professor Olivier Trescases is one of 16 U of T researchers that has been awarded a new Canada Research Chair by the federal government this spring.

Trescases has been named a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Power Electronic Converters. He conducts research on power electronics for automotive, industrial, aerospace and renewable energy applications. He is the director of the University of Toronto Electric Vehicle Research Centre and the Chair of the IEEE Toronto Section. He is the co-inventor for 12 patents and has published over 85 papers in IEEE conferences and journals.

The Canada Research Chairs program (CRCP) enables U of T to attract and retain the best and most promising researchers from around the world. In addition to conducting research that improves our depth of knowledge and quality of life, the university’s allocation of 275 Canada Research Chairs significantly enhances its capacity to train the next generation of leaders in their fields through student supervision and teaching.

Ted Sargent & Ashish Khisti

Professors Ted Sargent & Ashish Khisti

The CRCP’s announcement also included the renewal of two existing chairholders in ECE: Professor Ted Sargent, Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Nanotechnology and Professor Ashish Khisti, Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Information Processing.

“I want to congratulate all of the new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at the University of Toronto and thank the government for supporting their important work,” says Vivek Goel, U of T’s vice-president of research and innovation.

“We are grateful to the Government of Canada for its ongoing investments in the Canada Research Chairs program and for the additional funding for this program announced in Budget 2018. Such investments not only yield new knowledge, but set the stage for important innovations ranging from new cancer therapies to sustainable transportation technologies that will improve lives in Canada and around the world.”

— With files from Chris Sorensen and Engineering Strategic Communications

More information:
Jessica MacInnis
Senior Communications Officer
The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering