Professors Plataniotis and Sousa elected to the Canadian Academy of Engineering

Professors Konstantinos Plataniotis and Elvino Sousa have been elected as 2021 Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, along with four U of T Engineering alumni.

June 17, 2021

By Carolyn Farrell

ECE Professors Konstantinos Plataniotis and Elvino Sousa have been elected as 2021 Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE). Also among the CAE’s 52 new Fellows are U of T Engineering alumni James Burpee (MechE 7T7), Mark Diederichs (GeoE 8T7, MASc 9T0), David Erickson (MechE MASc 0T1, PhD 0T4), and Daryl Wilson (ChemE 8T2). The CAE is a national institution through which Canada’s most distinguished and experienced engineers provide strategic advice on matters of critical importance to Canada.   

“Both Professors Plataniotis and Sousa have forged distinguished careers and gained international acclaim,” says Professor Deepa Kundur, Chair of ECE. “They are an asset to the Canadian engineering community, and their election as Fellows reflects that. Congratulations Kostas, Elvino, and all the elected.”

“The election of these outstanding faculty and alumni to the Academy is tremendous recognition of their impact as engineering innovators, educators and leaders throughout Canada and globally,” said U of T Engineering Dean Christopher Yip. “On behalf of the Faculty, my warmest congratulations to all our new CAE Fellows.” 


Konstantinos (Kostas) Plataniotis is a highly regarded researcher, engineering educator and volunteer leader in the international engineering community. He has made outstanding contributions to the engineering profession through his technical achievements, mentorship, leadership in engineering societies and conferences and knowledge translation to industry. Plataniotis is internationally recognized for his adaptive imaging framework which unified previous seemingly unrelated results, yielded new theoretical contributions and led to the development of practical implementations. His contributions to engineering have been recognized with fellowships in IEEE and the Engineering Institute of Canada, the J.M. Ham Outstanding Engineering Educator Award and research paper prize awards. 

Elvino Sousa is globally recognized for his contributions to cellular system modeling and performance optimization, including CDMA systems and transmitter diversity techniques. He was a pioneer in the modeling of Packet Radio Networks using techniques now known as Stochastic Geometry. Sousa’s research in transmitter diversity influenced the transmitter diversity scheme adopted in the 3GPP LTE wireless standard. He was a pioneer in proposing Autonomous Infrastructure Wireless Networks and Two-Tier Wireless Networks, now known as Integrated Access and Backhaul, long before these concepts became popular. 

Read about all the U of T Engineering CAE Fellows in the original story on U of T Engineering News.

With files from Matthew Tierney

More information:
Jessica MacInnis
External Relations Manager
The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering